farmhouse renovation · Lucky Duck · Red Dirt Farmstand

Farmhouse renovation August 2017

 I felt as though I spent most of the week holding my breath and waiting for the other shoe to drop.  A tear or two may have fallen.

How was your week?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the farm stand this week.

 

 

 

 

 

Farmhouse renovation update.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sheetrock arrived very early Monday morning.  A carefully orchestrated event of man and machine.

 Drywall installers were here all week.  While I’m most happy to have this progress taking place at long last, having contractors in my space all week, seemed very invasive and trying.

 Perhaps, I’m not feeling my most patient these days.

Recent days have been so gut-wrenching and heartbreaking.  I found myself searching for things to be grateful for.  I’m sure there are plenty, but somehow when your world is hurting so badly, they seem hidden.  Trying to make sense of the senseless actions and lost lives in our community has been overwhelming.   There are moments of anger, frustration, sadness, and the many feelings that can’t even be put into words.

I think of all the times in the past I saw some unpleasant news on TV my action was to turn it off and walk away.  It is a lot harder to do that when your neighborhood is the center of all of the controversy.  There has been no escape from the ugly reality everywhere you go, people are wearing their emotions on their sleeves and talking, talking, talking about it.

 Compounding our sadness for our community is that we lost two members of our family this week.

 Plain and simple and not so polished, this week has sucked.

Especially at this time, I feel the need to remember and celebrate good and positive.  This is where all of you come in.  I’m so grateful that I’ve met some wonderful and kind people through blogging.  Our worlds most likely never would have crossed, if it wasn’t for this internet.  We share some kind of interest in writing and reading, gardening, farming or creating in some way.  I’m so appreciative when you guys take the time out to share your thoughts, truly it makes blogging meaningful.  I’m sorry I didn’t answer each of your comments this week, I found words hard to come by.

 Thank you for sharing the journey to raise little Lucky, and his subsequent release back into the wild.  Also, your caring words for our hurt community mean a lot.  Please keep thinking of us and our beautiful country, this ugly hatred isn’t going away and seems to be spreading.  I’m sending you all a big hug and thank you for your support.

A very special thank you to my friend, Debra, for her beautiful soul, her kind words, and generous spirit and sharing her incredible talent by putting our feathered family on canvas.  She brought light into my dark world this week.  I hope you will stop by and say hello to her – she is amazingly talented and she deserves an extra hug for just being her.

 

Well, that’s all for today.  Thanks for being here.

15 thoughts on “Farmhouse renovation August 2017

  1. I’m so sorry you’re hurting. Many of us are. I’ve never had anxiety attacks before but the news from this week has given me a continuous stream of it. In the meantime my stepdaughter has returned to UVA for another semester.
    As always your pictures are beautiful.

    Like

    1. Hi Penny – It must be overwhelming for you as a parent to have to bring your child into this uncertain and ever evolving arena. I know what you mean about the panic attacks – I just didn’t realize that was what I was experiencing. Thank you for commenting on the pictures, I found myself unable to concentrate on much this week, not even my camera. I made myself find joy through the lens. I’m glad I did. Be well my friend. xo kim

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry for your community. I don’t understand what’s going on in our world. The hatred of today cannot change our history. Hopefully all this will pass soon. ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

    1. Hi Gerri – thanks for stopping in and leaving a message. Things have gotten a little out of hand, haven’t they? This is our history, like it or not and we can not undo it with more violence. I worry that this will not pass esaily or soon enough and that really scares me. Keep the faith. xo kim

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your charming farmhouse is coming along… and it is such fun (for the outside voyeur 🙂 to see the progress… and I am again reminded of how much I want to visit your farm stand. If only!!! Debra’s painting of your ‘Sir Galahad handsome’ rooster is wonderful (I visited her lovely blog for the first time… she reminds me of you!)

    This is a very hard time for our country… it is sad and frightening, and even tomorrow’s eclipse seems eerily prophetic, because it does feel like goodness is being eclipsed by darkness. So it becomes even more important that we not lose hope or faith; and instead, fix our gaze on the faces of the people and animals we love and the beauty of the natural world. There, the light of hope, of love, and of goodness shines, undimmed and unwavering.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you visited Debra’s blog, I see that she too visited yours, I love it! I am humbled that you think that we are alike. Funny thing, I would never have said that we are alike at all. And yet, we share many interests funny when you scratch the surface what you will find.

      I’m so amazed at the gift you have with words, each time you write a note to me, I think this is why she is a writer. I’m glad I get to hear from you often. xo kim

      Like

  4. I see everyone’s just hanging on the porch — chickens and cats. Your photo of the pollen-gathering bee on the sun flower — OH MY! I know it’s hard to “live” when you have strangers in your house but it will all be worth it when it’s over. Wishing you brighter, happier days. Went to Debra’s blog and saw her painting of your chicken!

    Like

  5. So sorry to hear of your loss, despite your difficult week you still have produced some inspiring pictures. Your farm stand looks amazing, are those dried herb circles? Your cottage is looking great. Sarah x

    Like

Say hello and share your thoughts.

