craft · Garden Project · Uncategorized

Pressed Flowers a crafty Cosmos thing

Back in October, I decided to preserve some of the last flowers of the season from our gardens, by means of pressing.  I went out to the gardens and cut the best-looking cosmos.

cosmos-1

I cut the stems as close to the flower as I could get.

cosmos-2

cosmos-3

I especially liked this one with the darker center, fading to lighter at the ends of the petals.

cosmos-7I grabbed a bunch of my heaviest cookbooks and some plain copy paper.  I placed a sheet of paper down on the page inside the book, then placed the flowers face down on the sheet of paper so that they were not touching.

cosmos-5

cosmos-6

cosmos-9

Oh wow, that cupcake looks heavenly.  I might have to make that…

After I arranged all my flowers, then I placed another sheet of plain paper on top of the flowers and closed the book.  I did several pages in several different books.  I placed the books in an out-of-the-way place and left them undisturbed for the next several months.

cosmos-10

I used to have a real flower press, who knows what became of that.

On a gloomy dreary day recently, I thought I’d take a look at those cosmos and see how they came out.

I found that many of the petals got crinkled up or folded under.  I guess I wasn’t careful enough when I placed them on the sheets of paper.

pressed-flowers-3

I gathered some wood slices I have that Father Cottage made from a tree we cut down on our property last year.  I thought decoupaging them to the wood slices would be a neat way to display the dried flowers.

pressed-flowers-4

pressed-flowers-1

pressed-flowers-2

pressed-flowers-6

pressed-flowers-5

I like the way the back of the flower looks rather than the front.   In the end, I wasn’t happy with the way the decoupaged flowers looked on the wood slices.  I think the flowers are too delicate and get lost in the wood grain, the white ones faded into the grain so that you couldn’t even see them,

I think I enjoyed the process of cutting the fresh flowers, arranging them and then photographing them, more than anything.  However, I am thinking of other ways to use the rest of the pressed flowers.  Do you have any projects that you have done that you could suggest?

pressed-flowers-7

Thank you for being here today.

xo Kim

4 thoughts on “Pressed Flowers a crafty Cosmos thing

  1. HmmmmmI wonder if they are too fragile to make a flower garland? You could glue light weight thread or string to the backs of the flowers-spacing the flowers out every few inches on the string. When the glue dried-hang it in a window or against a wall. First idea that popped into my head-but there’s got be lots of ways to use these beautiful things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Debra they are really fragile. I don’t think that they can hold up without some sort of backing. I love the idea of light shinning through them. However everything I read says they will eventually fade no matter what you do with them. Ah fleeting beauty. I guess that is what I love about them. Xo kim

      Like

  2. They pressed beautifully! This made me laugh: “I used to have a real flower press, who knows what became of that.” I get that. Although I haven’t pressed Cosmos (yet) I enjoy using violets for adorning simple bookmarks. Best with a laminating machine, but who knows what became of mine!

    Like

Comments are closed.