farmhouse renovation · Uncategorized

You Hoo it’s me

I’ve been off-line and out of touch and away.

All summer there has been a whirlwind of activity here at the cottage.  The cottage renovation is still an ongoing process and will be for some time.  The exterior work is complete for the most part.  Our Cottage received her new paint colors – green, blue and white trim.  Quite a new look and if you will notice although I haven’t come up with an official new name to our place and this blog, quite obviously it is no longer Coral Cottage, for now, let’s just call her Our Cottage.

girls-on-the-front-porch

Seems all the gang thinks hanging out on the front porch admiring the new paint job is what it is all about.

tc-peanut-on-the-porch

The green siding really changes as the light changes throughout the day.  For the most part, I am really happy with it.  The one thing I didn’t want was yellow, and much to my surprise the yellow tone to the green shows prominently.

papaya-on-front-porch

I’m so happy to find the cosmos and a few zinnias still blooming though we are into November and have had several light frosts.

our-cottage

I’m happily gathering buckets of flowers and making lovely arrangements, with the help of my assistants of course.

mr-bones-and-the-flowers

The bees and butterflies are enjoying the last of the season too.

butterfly

Our Cottage family has been tested many times this past year with seemingly endless health challenges.  Recently we held our breath as Mr. Cottage has had a cancer scare.  After several tests, procedures, biopsies and earlier this week, surgery.  I am happy to say he is recovering quite well.  His doctor removed a tumor which he says he feels quite certain is benign and that we should not lose any more sleep.  I feel a tremendous sense of relief, but still holding just a wee bit of breath until the pathology report comes back.

And so, life goes on and we are trying to get back into the swing of normal – whatever that is.

Hoping you all are facing your personal challenges; whatever they may be with an open heart.

I hope to get back to posting more regularly and I look forward to visiting with my on-line friends again  and hearing what you all have been up to.

Thank you for being here today.

bee-on-the-cosmos

xo kim

Welcome to all new readers, I hope you will join the conversation and say hello from time to time.

16 thoughts on “You Hoo it’s me

  1. Glad to hear from you again! Been missing the updates. Give my best to Mr. Cottage as that’s never something you want to hear. But, as you said, life goes on and we work through things the best we can at the time and always remember the blessings that we do have.

    XXOO

    Like

  2. So glad to hear Mr. Cottage did well through surgery and his doctor sounds optimistic! I love the new cottage colors! Wishing you a peaceful fall season! xxoo

    Like

  3. Hi Kim! I love the new colors – especially the blue on your porch ceiling. It is fun and peaceful. Sending you good thoughts for Mr. Cottage!

    Like

    1. Hi Lisa – I like that blue ceiling too. I do feel like all the colors together present a peaceful calmness that is more than welcomed. We have had a lot of very nice compliments. Mr. Cottage is healing nicely. xok

      Like

  4. Your cottage looks so different in it’s new colours, it looks wonderful! Your poor husband has been through so much in the last year. I’m glad he is recovering well from the recent operation. Sarah x

    Like

    1. Hi Sarah – We are amazed at the change the colors make to the cottage. A new coat of paint is an amazing thing! Mr. Cottage has had a very difficult time these past several years. I believe that this latests round is on the right road to recovery. xok

      Like

  5. Hello sweetie-missed ya! So glad Mr. Cottage is ok…will be praying for you all. I love your cottage-it’s deserving of a magazine article-really beautiful Kim!

    Like

    1. Debra – I love how good you make me feel. When I read your messages I know an old friend has come to visit. Thank you for your kindness. Hugs – k

      Like

  6. I’m so glad to hear from you again! The house looks beautiful! I love the new colors…oh, and yellow is my favorite color…but in the photos it does look green. 🙂 That is great news about your husband, praise the Lord!

    Like

    1. Hi Debora – thank you – glad to be back. I like yellow too, but we had that as a trim color before and I was ready for something new. And yellow houses are kind of common around here – so I wanted to make sure to do something different. I’m happy with the colors we choose.

      Yes, good news about Mr. Cottage.
      xok

      Like

  7. I like the new house colors. Wonder what the neighbors think? Except for the red roof, the colors are more subdued than last time. Love that deep aqua/teal under the porch. Get a kick seeing all your critters on the porch pretending to be humans. Hope Mr. Cottage’s pathology comes back benign.

    Like

    1. Hi Miss Linda – actually we have had very positive feedback from the neighbors – and lots of people stopping or driving by slowly and looking. The first day after it was finished a group of bicyclists came by I was up on the porch and I could hear them talking. They stopped to take pictures – I guess that is a compliment. This is a very conservative area for house colors, so though these new colors aren’t as bold they are considered to be a bit shocking.
      That ceiling is painted our version of haint blue.
      Yes, praying for a good report…
      xok

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It does look pretty! Although like you I found myself asking “green? yellow?” either way it works and is lovely. And the blue ceiling~! Awesome. Here’s to health and happiness going into the Christmas season.
    I see you are having a pop-up show. My friend and I are going to also! So exciting.

    Like

Comments are closed.