chickens · farmhouse renovation

cottage farmhouse we are under roof

The carpenters have finished their part of the exterior work on our cottage farmhouse renovation.  We are officially under roof.

That’s a big hallelujah-Whoot Whoot!!

underroof front
Front
underroof back of house
Back Elevation

But oh so far from being finished.

All the siding and exterior trim work have been completed.  Well, except for some detail work.  I’m looking for some vintage corbels that I want to add to the back porches to give it that old farmhouse character.  I haven’t found any that I was willing to pay the price, so the search is still on.

The many delays we have experienced have given us the opportunity to rethink our interior space.  We (that’s the royal we) because it really is Mr. Cottage doing the physical work. Have moved a few doorways more than once and now we are moving walls too.  So, even though the delays have been very frustrating; in the end, I think we will be happy with the changes that have been and will be made.

IMG_4164-1

For now, this is what the inside looks like – yes a peacock house.   The drywall is not up.  Mr. Cottage and our friend Farmgirl have done most of the electrical work.

changes being discussed
The Cottage men talk over changes being made.

 Mr. Cottage has installed the HVAC system.  We will finally have central heating and cooling after all these years.  We went last winter without heat upstairs and I don’t want to go another winter without.  As time allows Mr. Cottage works on moving walls and doorways, electrical and other details.  It is a slow process and certainly if money were no issue we would have professionals come in and do it and be done.

Another project that is almost completed is our third – and most likely – last chicken coop.

Given that this project took about 24 years complete, I guess our house renovation isn’t all that slow going, after all.

When we moved here those many years ago, I immediately started dreaming of turning this building into a chicken coop.  Instead, we built two other coops, plus the peafowl aviary.  As our flock grew, it was time for more space.

hen house

tractor shed

I shared this photo back in winter with you guys and told you I hoped to make it the next coop.

Assbackwards, the run was built and completed in the spring.  The 20 younger chicks have called this home all summer.  Now that they are laying, it was time for the house to be completed, and nesting areas set-up.

fushia

Because the building was full to the brim with junk – yes I know this photo looks like a scene from hoarders – please don’t report me.

hen house before
Hen House – Before

We had to go through and clean out the TWENTY-FOUR years of accumulation in this building before it could be turned into the coop of my dreams.  It took all summer.

I leave you with this awful scene and tell you, yes the inside is all cleaned out and is officially a hen-house.  I will share the hen-house of my dreams, next time.

peas

Thanks for being here today.

xo kim

P.S. – I want to welcome and thank new readers to this blog, I hope you will join the conversation.

22 thoughts on “cottage farmhouse we are under roof

  1. Congrats on being under roof! I love renovating and improving things, so it’s fun to watch yours. Peafowl are on my bucket list so I’ll be interested to learn more about your experiences with them. Yours look fairly tame. Is that normal, or do you handle yours more than most owners do?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – yes it is such a relief to be able to cross that off the list of things to do. As far as the peafowl goes. It too was a long dream of mine. My girlfriend has them and she knew I was ready to have a few. When her female laid eggs she asked how many I wanted. She pulled aside a few eggs and hatched them so we would be sure the mom didn’t take them away. I have handled them since the day they were hatched. I brought them home when they were a week old and so I think handling them right from the beginning made a difference. We built an aviary that was big enough for me to go in and sit with them and interact every day – rather then just watching them in a cage. They are (were) unusually tame and friendly. I taught them to free range during the day and come back to the house at night just like the chickens. All was well until they turned a year old in June. The female started chasing the chickens, and then the males started. Then the males started coming after me. They also started to wander off our property. We now keep them in their house during the day while the chickens are out. At first the protested rather loudly. We let them out in the evening under our subervision. They have settled down a bit, however I don’t trust them with the chickens. They now only want to be out for about an hour and they either come and get us to take them back to their house or they go in on their own. It takes about 3 years for them to reach maturity. Unlike chickens they have a mating season – during which time I t think they tend to be more aggressive – perhaps that is what go mine going, even though they aren’t mature yet. Those darn hormones. WOW I just wrote a whole book too much info. Thanks for asking.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, pea-supervisors are the key – entertaining anyway. I so enjoy seeing all the projects that you are working on too. What a summer with crazy weather for both of us. xo kim

      Like

    1. Hi Deborah – renovation is fun and frustrating, so many decisions to make and on a budget, it forces one to be creative. I’m ok with that. Thank you for being here today and leaving a comment. Best, Kim

      Like

    1. Ah, I know there they were being sweet and curious I just had to capture that moment – ‘cuz you know the next minute they were getting into something they shouldn’t have!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Melissa – I wrote a darn book about peafowl – guess I got carried away, glad you enjoyed it. One of these days when I save up I’ll ask you to consider painting them for me. Hope you are well. xo Kim

      Like

    1. Hi Elvira – welcome to my little blog. Thank you for your kind comment. I have ideas and my husband is the doer – it works out pretty good. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Hello Dear Friend! It’s always a pleasure to visit you! The fowl seem to approve of the construction…loved reading your comment about the birds-I had no idea they could be so contrary! It’s fun to see the house progress. Blessings to you !!!

    Like

    1. Debra – I keep you in my heart all the time – Those silly birds or as Mr. Cottage calls them – the kooky birds keep us on our toes. Hugs, kim

      Like

  3. Dearest Kimmie — I laughed out loud at the pic of the peacocks inside the house looking outside. Print those up and make them into postcards! I write about gardening but I have been into rubber stamping and “mail art” since 1990 and I will turn anything into mail art. Is that a fuschia blooming at the peacock house?

    Like

    1. Hey Miss Linda – why don’t you share a blog about your creations – I’d love to see them. Did I ask you about that before? I know it is a garden blog but… Yes, it was a lovely fuschia. I say was, ‘cuz I killed it dead. I forgot to water it and yep it was a goner in two days time.
      Here is a link to a blog you might enjoy. The lady is in Canada she writes garden stuff too, and she contacted me recently to share my garden on her blog. I don’t know when it will be featured. I thought of you and your lovely gardens and maybe you’d like to share yours there too. If not, I’m sure you would enjoy seeing the gardens that once belonged to her parents. http://www.manitobagardens.com/

      Like

      1. I’ve thought about doing another blog — an artsy one — but Geeze Louise, it’s so much WORK just to do one. I haven’t posted anything this month because I’ve been in and out of the doc’s office with acute sinusitis. Am just now starting to feel human again.

        Like

Comments are closed.