farmhouse renovation

cottage farmhouse renovation update January 2016.

Hi y’all, I’ve got a photo heavy post today about the renovation progress.

How was your week?   We have had good snow melt this week.  I also had a meltdown on Friday and won’t be winning the good wife award.  Lack of sleep too much stress and not enough quiet time.  I slept better the past two nights and I  am feeling better.  Mr. Cottage is recovering nicely from his surgery, he goes to physical therapy a couple times a week.  He got a good progress report from his surgeon on Friday.

Enough chatter, here are some renovation photos.

IMG_6442-1

Let the first-floor framing begin!

IMG_6587-1

Back elevation – the big opening in the wall is for the door that will lead to father cottages back porch.

The first floor will be for father cottage, his living area and bedroom, bathroom and a laundry room.   The second floor will have a new bathroom for the existing bedrooms and a new master bedroom and bathroom for us.

After the first floor was framed, to help save some money our friends came and tore out the chimney.  Brick by brick was removed and hauled bucket by bucket.  A slow tedious and extremely messy and dangerous process.  The bricks were torn out, loaded in the buckets, hauled down the side of the upper roof, then walked across the lower roof, down the ladder across the porch and into the pickup truck to be hauled away.

IMG_6940-1

Afer the chimney was removed to roof line, the stainless steel liner was cut out to roof level, from inside the attic.  The chimney runs through the center of the house, and the remaining section will be removed when we are ready to gut the inside of the house.

IMG_7044-1

The hole in the roof is then framed in and covered with plywood for the time being.

IMG_7047-1

The framing crew returns a few days later and finishes the first floor and begins working on the second floor.

IMG_7116-1

The crumbled wad of metal in the center of the photo is part of the old roof that was removed.

IMG_7090-1

Here they are getting ready to remove part of the old roof in order to tie the second floor in with the existing house.

IMG_7098-1

Back elevation – what will be our new master bedroom.  The opening in the wall is where the door will lead out to our bedroom porch.

Weather permitting, and all goes according to plans, the roofer will be out this week.  He will remove the old roof and replace everything with a brand new bright red metal roof.  The color of the roof was a custom order to my specifications so it took a while for the metal to be manufactured and coated in the special red paint.  I cannot wait to see it!  It will also be a relief to get the tarp off and have a real roof in place.

February is just around the corner and I am looking forward to what it will bring.

xo kim

blog-hop 2
Join the hop http://oursimplelife-sc.com/our-simple-homestead-blog-hop-37/

23 thoughts on “cottage farmhouse renovation update January 2016.

  1. Wow! You guys are really amazing. Such a good idea to record this undertaking in words and pictures.

    Larry and I are moving to Lynchburg in 2016. I can’t believe it’s been almost 6 years since you hosted our birthday bash! Miss you and hope to reconnect soon! Love, Kathy

    Like

    1. Hi Kathy – so good to hear from you. How wonderful to have you back in state again, hopefully we will get to see you more often. So much has changed in those six years since that crazy fun birthday bash! Thanks for stopping by. xo kim

      Like

  2. What an exciting process to see, Kim (at least, from the outside:)! “Lack of sleep too much stress and not enough quiet time.” I would be having a meltdown, too, if I was the one living amidst all the renovations…Sending good vibes for a smooth-going process from here on out!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the good vibes. It is an exciting process, but still it is stressful, no matter how much I remind myself how lucky we are to be doing this and having my dad come live us is an honor, sometimes it gets overwhelming. xo kim

      Like

  3. Wonderful progress! Thank you for sharing all the photos. And, hey, if you don’t have at least one meltdown during a major construction project, then something might be very wrong. 😉 Sorry I’ve been absent for a while…just haven’t been following much of anything for a while, but I’m starting to again. Peace and Blessings, Kim

    Like

    1. Hi Sara – how good to hear from you. I think of you often, and I hope you are ok. I understand about not keeping up, I’m having a heard time either being in the mood to read blogs or to respond. I make myself post – just to keep my mind occupied. xo kim

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I see we’ve been in much the same place, then, Kim. A big part of mine has been winter….I am not a fan of winter at all, but it also makes my depression worsen 😦 Also, my husband’s health has been worsening over the last 6 months or so (do you recall that he has hep c/liver disease?) That has been very tough to watch him suffer and not be able to do much for him, and to have to think about the time when he will no longer be on this earth. Moving on from that….we do have some good news going on: First, our daughter and her husband are going to have a baby! It happened early than they had planned, but we are all so excited! The baby will be born in early August….and, our next bit of news, we plan to be living out in Washington close to them by that time! We hope to move the end of May/first of June. Lots of reasons for our moving back there, but being near them is a big part of it.
        I don’t recall if I shared this already or not, but my mom died in September after many years of living with Alzheimer’s and in a way she never wanted to live. So, while my siblings and I did our grieving, we were also very thankful that she was released from her body to be the wonderful soul she is, and to know that she and my dad were once again together, and with God. I miss them both, but do talk to them periodically and feel their presence in my life.
        Well, there’s an update for you! LOL
        Sending Love, Peace and Blessings your way.

        Like

  4. I am just astounded how fast progress can be made with a little sunshine. I also didn’t realize this was going to be such a major undertaking — a second story and a new red roof. Just so long as it’s a metal roof. A farm house needs a metal roof. Red is good. I’m anxious to learn what the new color combinations will be. Sorry to hear about your melt down. None of us are perfect.

    Like

    1. I should have posted that the photos are all a retrospective, they were all taken in December prior to our inclement weather. We have not had any work done on the house since Christmas. We are waiting for people to show up and or the weather to work out. Major undertaking and it is going to get worse before it gets better. Whatdaya mean none of us are perfect? LOL

      Like

      1. Oh dear, if you call on me we’re all screwed! LOL I think we are perfectly imperfect as we orbit our own little moon! Have you made any sun catchers?

        Like

      2. Ah Linda – sorry you have been having a difficult time. I sure hope you are on the road to feeling better soon. I keep meaning to send some wind chime inspirational photos to you…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I should have mentioned that all those photos were taken pre-weather – actually in December. We have been at a standstill for over a month. Looks like the weather this week won’t help. Thanks for popping in. xo kim

      Like

  5. We built our tiny house three years ago, and it’s really a test of a relationship! Your project is going to be great! I’m visiting from Oak Hill Homestead blog hop.

    Like

    1. Thank you for popping in and leaving a message to me. Yes, living in a house while it is being renovated is not for the weak hearted! I wouldn’t change it though and I can’t stop dreaming about what will be. Best, Kim

      Like

    1. Yes, Sarah it is exiting, and frustrating too. But mostly I feel lucky to be able to accomplish this with help from Father Cottage. xo kim

      Like

      1. I hope you aren’t being buffeted by the winds we are getting here today. 60mph! Went for a scary walk in the woods with my friend. Between the trees being bent over and the sheets of ice we decided to head back to our cars. :0

        Like

Comments are closed.