chickens · farmhouse renovation · Red Dirt Farmstand

Cottage Farmhouse photos

 

Hi friends, it’s been almost a month since my last post.  Where to even begin?

I’ve closed up the egg stand for about a month or two, however I will anxiously look forward to reopening.

Quite a few people ask me about my honor system and if it works.  The answer is yes, it has been an amazing experience.  The past couple of weeks, I added a few of my handmade goods for sale, however the eggs remained the star of the show.  The stand was open Friday through Sunday, but many days when the stand was closed we had people come to the house asking if we had eggs for sale.  Mr. Cottage and I really looked forward to the end of the day when we would close up, because inside the honor box would be the sweetest little notes and messages that the customers would write to us.  We really looked forward to receiving those messages.

The cottage farmhouse renovation has been going ahead full steam 6 days a week.  Lots of beating and banging and house shaking.  Truly it has all been one colossal pain in the – well you know. It is all very exciting, and scary and nerve-racking to say the least.

lumber delivered in the rain

The lumber for the framing was delivered and after a rain delay the sun came out and the framing began.

framing begins

I will be posting photos and updates, next year.

In chicken land…

Both chicken coops and the peacock aviary are decorated a wee bit for the holidays.

coop with wreath

The mean girls have white twinkle lights and snowflakes.

cave girls decorated for christmas

The cave girls  wreath has white deer and multi colored twinkle lights.

peacock aviary

The peacock aviary has a wreath with you guessed it peacocks and feathers.

I’m going to be away from the blog for a while so I want to take this time to thank you all for visiting my blog this year and leaving comments, they are so appreciated.

I leave you with a few holiday photos.

peanut and boo 1

kitchen helper

I’ve done a lot of cooking and baking using my girls fresh eggs and I can tell you it makes a difference and it just makes me feel good to use what we produce.  I love my girls and look forward to spring and adding to the flock.

sugar cookies 2

ban muffs

cookies

kitchen window

german santa

merry christmas

peaceful and calm

I wish each and every one of you guys a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.  I hope you are blessed with love and peace in your hearts.

From Mr. Cottage, Buddyru, Wynnie, Henry and TC. Peanut and Boo, Ethel and Lucy, Wilma and Betty, Alice, Elsie and Mamie  don’t forget Bert and Stanley and the fruit cups Mango, Papaya and Coconut – Happy Holidays!

xo Kim

blog-hop 2
http://oursimplelife-sc.com/our-simple-homestead-blog-hop-33/

19 thoughts on “Cottage Farmhouse photos

  1. Hi Kim, What a great idea to sell your lovely sun catchers along with the eggs. I remember seeing them when you use to had your on line shop. It must be so nice to receive notes with the egg money. Have a wonderful Christmas , your baking must taste delicious with those fresh eggs. Sarah x

    Like

  2. Hi Kim! Your decorations are fabulous!!. (We have matching mixers–should I be surprised?) I wish you and Charles and your dad and the critter crew a very Merry Christmas! Love and miss you!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Donna – I cut back on decorating this year, too much going on however, I am pleased with it as it is, and of course we have the same mixer! Wishing you and yours a wonderful Chirstmas! xo Kim

      Like

    1. Hi Linda – that is a lot of lumber and several more deliveries have been made since I took that photo. Sending you Christmas wishes for a peaceful holiday, I know it isn’t easy – the first one after losing a parent. Thinking of you. xo Kim

      Like

  3. It looks like everything is merry and bright in spite of all the extra hustle and bustle of renovating. Thank you for sharing your lovely photos. Life with the girls must be extra special and it makes me smile thinking of the lucky ones getting to enjoy the eggs.
    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    oxo
    p.s. hope you and your husband get to visit Williamsburg!

    Like

  4. Looks like things are quite busy up there in Cottage land. I love all of the decorations and the furry/feathered family pictures! It is already 78 here in Texas, so while it is a gorgeous day, it feels more like gardening than hot chocolate! Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a delightful cottage and home you have. Love the bright colors!! It was great fun to run through the photographs and get a quick view of your holiday. I love that the dogs though the tree sheet was put out for them!! I am looking forward to seeing more photo’s as your project progresses.
    Donna at the Small House Big Sky Homestead (In SW Michigan)

    Like

    1. Hi Donna – how nice of you to drop in and leave a message. Yes of course the dogs and cats too, think that any new or clean object is placed just for their enjoyment, tree skirt not off limits! Happy new year

      Like

  6. Hi Kim,

    I always love reading your blog. It is perfect. How is the renovation going? Does it stall, in the winter? It amazes me when I see construction proceeding right in the snow. Do chickens stop laying in the winter? Makes sense, if they do.

    Looking forward to your next post!

    Like

Comments are closed.