chickens · farmhouse renovation · Peacocks · Red Dirt Farmstand

good ordinary beautiful week

I thought at long last I would be posting about the excavation this weekend of our house addition.

 Once again, it was postponed due to the weather.  We’ve had rain, unusually warm temperatures and now,  it is cool.

It has been a good ordinary beautiful week.

I’ve been doing a lot of bread baking lately.  Starting the mornings out with fresh  coddled eggs from the girls and big slabs of homemade bread slathered in jam – mmmm.  No wonder my bottom is so well-rounded.

coddled eggs and bread

It’s been a colorful week that I captured on camera.  So I’ll load this post with photos, if y’all will be so kind as to indulge me.

leaves

boo in fall leaves

bert

I’m quite please to be able to say the peafowl are adjusting to their days of free ranging.  So far, they come when I call them to go to their house for the night.  Well except, Papaya always has to be coaxed  to go in and he makes several trips around and around the aviary – having his own game of it, then he finally goes inside.  In the mornings he always has to make a flying exit when he comes out.

The siding hasn’t been put on the aviary, as we are searching for old barn wood, and haven’t found a source yet.  In the mean time I added a little pizzaz.

aviary

aviary

The aviary.

papaya

Papaya making his morning exit.

papaya 2

“Look at me I can fly!”

sky

note from the girls

chickens

coconut and papaya

wreath

I hope you had a beautiful week too.

xo Kim

IMG_9873

The Journey Awakens The Soul

8 thoughts on “good ordinary beautiful week

  1. What a wonderful colourful week! I’m glad the peafowl are coming in at night, it’s wonderful the way you manage to capture Papaya’s morning exit! Sarah x

    Like

    1. Hi Sarah – the colors are so amazing this time of year aren’t they? You have the most beautiful photos on your blog. I’m so proud of my peafowl, and they really keep me entertained. xo kim

      Like

    1. Hi Linda – those boots are my coop boots and they get a lot of walking time, ‘cuz they are so darn cute! We have a small stock pile of pallets, and we thought of using them and getting more, but we are holding out for the barn wood at this time. We just may have found a source, keeping our fingers crossed. xo k

      Like

Comments are closed.